The International Hospital Federation


The International Hospital Federation (IHF) is an international not for profit, non-governmental membership organization.


Our members are worldwide hospitals and healthcare organizations having a distinct relationship with the provision of healthcare. We provide them with a platform for the exchange of knowledge and strategic experience as well as opportunities for international collaborations with different actors in the health sector.


Established in 1929 after the first International Hospital Congress in Atlantic City, USA as the International Hospital Association, it was re-named after the Second World War in 1947. With its Headquarters in Geneva the IHF is constituted under the Civil Code of Switzerland. The IHF recognizes the essential role of hospitals and health care organizations in providing health care, supporting health services and offering education. Our role is to help international hospitals work towards improving the level of the services they deliver to the population with the primary goal of improving the health of society.


Our vision is a world of healthy communities served by well managed hospitals and health services where all individuals reach their highest potential for health.


Our mission is to:

  • Support organizations in the promotion and delivery of healthcare
  • Promote interaction among different health system actors
  • Sharing of knowledge and experiences
  • Support creation of new national hospital associations
  • Dissemination of evidence-based information
  • Help hospital decision-makers define strategies


Dr Francisco Balestrin
Board Member, Associacao Nacional de Hospitais Privados / Brazilian Association of Private Hospitals
IHF President 2017-2019

Dr Erik Kreyberg Normann
President, Norwegian Hospital & Health Service Association
IHF President 2015-2017

Dr Kwang Tae Kim
Chairman, Daerim St. Mary’s Hospital in Korea
IHF President 2013-2015

Thomas C. Dolan, PhD, FACHE, FASAE
President Emeritus, American College of Healthcare Executives
IHF President 2011-2013

Dr José Carlos Abrahão
Health Consultant and Coach in Brazil
IHF President 2009-2011

Mr Gérard Vincent
IHF President 2005-2007

Dame Gill Morgan
Chair, NHS Providers
IHF President 2003-2005

Prof. Eng Kiong Yeoh
Professor, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
IHF President 2001-2003

Dr Ton Krol
IHF President 1999-2001


Dr Luis Aramicy
President, Federacao Brasileira de Hospitais / Brazilian Hospital Federation

Mr Alexis Thomas
Chief of Staff, Federation Hospitaliere de France / French Hospital Federation

Mr Georg Baum
CEO, Deutsche Krankenhausgesellschaft / German Hospital Federation

Dr Simon Tang Yiu-hang
Cluster Chief Executive, Hong Kong Hospital Authority

Dr Kuntjoro Adi Purjanto
President, PERSI / Indonesian Hospital Association

Dr Satoru Komatsumoto
Vice President, Japan Hospital Association

Dr Young-Jin Lim
President, Korean Hospital Association

Dr. Huberto F. Lapuz
President, Philippine Hospital Association

Prof. Carlos Pereira Alves
President, Associacao Portuguesa para o Desenvolvimento Hospitalar / Portuguese Association for Hospital Development

Roser Fernández
General Director, Unio Catalana d’Hospitals / Catalan Hospital, Health and Social Services Association

Dr Steve W. N. Ueng
President, Taiwan Hospital Association

Dr. Abdul Salam Al Madani
IHF Special Advisor for the Middle East Region

Mr Niall Dickson
Chief Executive, NHS Confederation

Adam Brimelow
Director of Communications, NHS Providers

Richard J. Pollack
President and CEO, American Hospital Association